Sucre “The White City”

Touristic visit

13 May de 2019
Late Bolivia

It is the constitutional capital of Bolivia, seat of the Supreme Court and capital of the Chuquisaca department. The city is located in the south central area of the country and lies at an altitude of 2,750 meters (9,100 feet).

Also known as “The City of Four Names”: Charcas, Villa de Oropeza, La Plata and Sucre. Since colonial Sucre looks like a typical Spanish town, the narrow streets of the center are organized in blocks, reflecting the Andalusian culture, which is also evidenced in the great houses and numerous convents and churches of the city.

Until the eighteenth century, Sucre was the judicial center, religious and cultural life of the entire region of the colony. In 1839, already in the Republican era, after the city was named capital of Bolivia, was re-named after the independence leader Antonio José de Sucre. In 1898 the Bolivian seat of government moved to La Paz, after a civil war.

Sucre is listed as Intangible Cultural Heritage by UNESCO and attracts many foreign visitors every year thanks to its well-preserved downtown with buildings from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Tourist Attractions: 
The House of Liberty 
The Recoleta Museum 
Glorieta´s Palace 
Local Cemetery 
Cal Orck’o Cretacic Park 
Textile Museum ASUR

Some towns that surround Sucre could give you a beautiful experience of the indigenous ethnic groups of the region: Tarabuco, Potolo, Maragua



Late Bolivia - Tour Operator • Copyright © 2018